Artist

Noname

Noname, born as Fatimah Warner on September 18, 1991, is a poet/rapper from Chicago, Illinois. Although she’s been heavily involved in the Chicago scene since 2010, I was first introduced to her through a feature on the song “Lost” on Chance the Rapper’s (my favorite rapper) mixtape Acid Rap back in 2013.

I fell in love with her feature and promptly learned all the words, and a year later she was featured on the song “Comfortable” by Mick Jenkins, who is another one of my favorite rappers; she has gone on to collaborate with Chance and Mick several more times.

Her original stage name was Noname Gypsy, but last year she changed it to solely “Noname” because of the racial association that comes from the term Gypsy. She tweeted to her her fans that “When I first decided what my stage name would be I was unaware of how racially inappropriate and offensive it was to Romani people.”

After years of setbacks and anticipation from her fans, she finally released her first mixtape titled “Telefone” on July 31, 2016, for free. This 33-minute mixtape contains features from artists such as Saba, Ravyn Lanae, Raury, Eryn Allen Kane, and Smino. I’ve fallen in love with the mixtape and I’ve listened to it all the way through at least 30 times.

To learn more about Noname visit her website

To hear more music visit her SoundCloud

Leave a Reply

